View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:06 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 GMC-320 Reading fell to Zero 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:45 am
Posts: 4
Location: Pennsylvania
Can anyone help. Last night sometime during the night, the radiation reading level on my GMC-320 went from around 20 to zero today. Everything was going good up until then. I should say that I do turn off my router most evenings before going to bed but the SD card on the Raspberry should record the readings and transmit them in the morning when I turn the router back on, so I can't see that would affect the geiger counter readings. I mean it shouldn't care wether what it detects is transmitted or not, should it? Looking for a little help. I did shut off, unplug everything and reboot them but that did not seem to help.


Sat Jan 04, 2014 1:35 pm
Profile
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:02 pm
Posts: 222
What does the gmc-320 say is the current cpm on the display?


Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:09 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm
Posts: 2879
Location: Illinois
EB030952 wrote:
Can anyone help. Last night sometime during the night, the radiation reading level on my GMC-320 went from around 20 to zero today. Everything was going good up until then. I should say that I do turn off my router most evenings before going to bed but the SD card on the Raspberry should record the readings and transmit them in the morning when I turn the router back on, so I can't see that would affect the geiger counter readings. I mean it shouldn't care wether what it detects is transmitted or not, should it? Looking for a little help. I did shut off, unplug everything and reboot them but that did not seem to help.


It is very helpful to always post a link to your stations chart or any other station your post might be talking about. Of course this advice can be used by all, not just you. Thanks in advance.

_________________
MY OUTSIDE RADIATION MONITORING STATION:
South Beloit, Illinois - GMC200 Outside on HEPA air purifier, ground level, facing West.
http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB5A139C


Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:28 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:45 am
Posts: 4
Location: Pennsylvania
If the link I pasted works, the chart shows that yesterday sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. Right now it seems to be working. Currently it is reading probably an average of 18-20. If the link doesn't work ( I'm not real computer savvy, not sure the *right* way to do such things) the station is EB030952.

http://www.netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB030952


Sun Jan 05, 2014 1:18 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:45 am
Posts: 4
Location: Pennsylvania
Is it possible that something is wrong with my GMC-320? The early readings seem to be fairly consistent but ever since Jan 4th things seem to have gone haywire. It has been in the exact same place all along. On ocassion I can watch it in a period of 90-120 seconds go from zero to 30 CPM's and back to zero with no external, environmental changes that I am aware of. Can anyone help me determine what is going on? The two other monitors closest to me in Pa (links below mine) seem to be steady.

http://www.netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB030952

http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3A422AE3C4.1

http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEA22B7DF.3


Thu Jan 09, 2014 11:36 am
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm
Posts: 2879
Location: Illinois
EB030952 wrote:
Is it possible that something is wrong with my GMC-320?


It is important to note if the readings act like that just through the NETC software or if it is seen on the units display. If these swings down to zero are seen on your units display screen, it is possible your unit might be going bad.

_________________
MY OUTSIDE RADIATION MONITORING STATION:
South Beloit, Illinois - GMC200 Outside on HEPA air purifier, ground level, facing West.
http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB5A139C


Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:21 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:51 pm
Posts: 746
Location: Arkansas
Jeff said, it is in the big memory on the GMC-320 and the way it stores the data. He is working on the problem. The GMC-300E do not have this problem
Harlan


Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Profile
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:02 pm
Posts: 222
Actually I still need to know if the zero's are showing on the display of the 320 itself.


Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:26 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 11:45 am
Posts: 4
Location: Pennsylvania
Yes the monitor display screen itself still reads zero. The monitor readings on the display screen appear to be accurately recorded and graphed through the sofware on the NETC wbebsite. As I said in an earlier post I have seen the display on the monitor go from zero up to 20 and back to zero in the time span of about two minutes.


Fri Jan 10, 2014 4:10 pm
Profile
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:40 pm
Posts: 2879
Location: Illinois
EB030952 wrote:
Yes the monitor display screen itself still reads zero. The monitor readings on the display screen appear to be accurately recorded and graphed through the sofware on the NETC wbebsite. As I said in an earlier post I have seen the display on the monitor go from zero up to 20 and back to zero in the time span of about two minutes.


If your units display reads zero it is very likely your GM tube has failed and needs to be returned to GQ Electronics. Your best results will be emailing them.

_________________
MY OUTSIDE RADIATION MONITORING STATION:
South Beloit, Illinois - GMC200 Outside on HEPA air purifier, ground level, facing West.
http://netc.com/chart/view.php?n=1%3AEB5A139C


Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:20 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware.